Northern California Science Writers Association


Tuesday, June 05, 2018 5:39 PM | Corinna Wu (Administrator)

Coming Attractions

NCSWA Summer Dinner Talk: Stay Tuned

Date and place TBA

More information coming soon to your email inbox. For other events, visit the NCSWA site.

Training, conferences and awards

Want to attend next year’s World Conference of Science Journalists but can’t afford the airfare to Lausanne, Switzerland?

June 15 is the deadline to submit a proposal for a session at WCSJ2017. Travel for session organizers and speakers will be covered if there is need. For more information, see the WCSJ2019 website.

June 29 is the deadline to apply for the 9th annual Journalists in Aging Fellows Program, co-directed by Paul Kleyman at the Journalists Network on Generations and the Gerontological Society of America. For more information, see the website.

June 30 is the entry deadline for the Evert Clark/Seth Payne Award for Young Journalists sponsored by the Council for the Advancement of Science Writing (CASW) and the Clark/Payne Fund. Applicants must be age 30 or younger, and the winner will receive $1,000 plus expenses to attend ScienceWriters2018, the annual CASW meeting in October in Washington DC. For more information, visit the CASW website.

July 31 is the entry deadline for the Council for the Advancement of Science Writing's Victor Cohn Award for Excellence in Medical Science Reporting. This prize is for work published or broadcast within the last five years that has made a profound and lasting contribution to public awareness and understanding of critical advances in medical science and their impact on human health and well-being. The honoree receives $3,000 and travel expenses to the award ceremony held during ScienceWriters2018, the annual CASW meeting in October in Washington DC. For more information, visit the  CASW website.

August 1 is the entry deadline for the AAAS Kavli Science Journalism Awards. These awards recognize outstanding reporting for a general audience and honor individuals for their coverage of the sciences, engineering and mathematics. 

The categories include large newspapers, small newspapers, magazines, online (including podcasts and blogs), radio and television (spot news/feature and in-depth). In addition, the category for children’s science news is open to journalists worldwide across all media. Winners receive a cash award plus expenses to attend the annual AAAS meeting. For more information, visit the AAAS website.

October 1 is the entry deadline for the Alicia Patterson fellowship, open to full-time print journalists including freelancers. One-year and six-month grants are awarded to working journalists to pursue independent projects of significant interest. They will write articles based on their investigations for The APF Reporter, a magazine published by the Foundation and available on the web. For more information, visit the Alicia Patterson Foundation website.  

NCSWA About Town

Liza Gross will be publishing a handbook on investigative reporting for science writers, available through Amazon in early June. The Science Writers' Investigative Reporting Handbook: A Beginner's Guide to Investigations was made possible through an NASW Peggy Girshman Idea grant. It is a practical, step-by-step guide that gives writers -- especially those covering science -- all the tools they’ll need to add accountability reporting to their stories.

Christine Heinrichs published astoryabout the return of Pismo Beach’s legendary clams in the San Luis Obispo Tribune. Also, she was quoted as a chicken expert in the SLO Tribune.

Kathryn Jepsen is running for re-election to the board of the National Association of Science Writers.

New Members

Erin Brodwin, biotech reporter at Business Insider

Suzanne Canada, Tanager Medical Writing LLC

Claris Diaz, student, Cardiff University

Shira Gordon, personal

Juhi Kunde, LUNGevity Foundation

Jennifer Leman, student, UC Santa Cruz Science Communication Program

Robin Pelc, self-employed

Leena Prasad, Thinkers Ink

Susan Rambo, freelance technical editor


Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software